Skip to content

Making the Best of the LG Incite

January 30, 2010


I picked up the LG Incite about 6 months ago as a replacement for my AT&T Tilt when its ROM got fried. At the time I couldn’t make up my mind regarding what phone I wanted and I had been trying to hold out until later in 2010 when WinMo 7 releases and a new slew of windows mobile smartphones hit the market. However I had to find something so I ended up deciding on the LG Incite. This however turned out to be a huge mistake. To put it simply, the phone is terrible. It is completely underpowered which results in sluggish performance that makes it nearly unusable. However, I decided to make the best of it and here are some of the tweaks I found that have made the phone more bearable and functional. If you happen to be stuck with an Incite you might want to try some of these out.

  1. For starters make sure to update to the latest ROM here. The performance boost was minor but any improvement in this area is worth it.
  2. Invest in a good contact manager. Normally I would recommend PointUI here but I have had significant issues getting it to run on the Incite. Instead I ended up getting Resco’s Contact Manager. It runs $24.95 but I have been very pleased with it and I think it is worth the price.
  3. As far as mobile browsers go I would have like to run skyfire or opera but both seemed to have issues with the Incite. I settled on the preinstalled Netfront browser which is a distant third but at least works. One problem here is that after a few months it actually stopped working giving an error message that it was trial software and then kicking me off the browser. The ROM update above fixes that issue.
  4. I also use a Red Fly Mobile Companion for when I need to do any prolonged work on the Incite. I wouldn’t say that it is a must have but the $250 version includes a media port so you can display video content from an iPod on its 8″ screen. One word of warning here is that recorded TV, videos, you tube clips cannot be played from the incite to the Red Fly in any watcheable format. Most cell phones use USB 1.0 which just can’t handle the amount of data need to stream video without it being choppy.

Hopefully this will get me through to October or November of this year when some of the more exciting and powerful windows mobile smartphones will be released.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

